Cenla Red Cross celebrates volunteers

The American Red Cross of Central Louisiana welcomed over 100 volunteers and donors to their 2010 Annual Membership Meeting and Volunteer Appreciation Dinner held last night at their office building- 425 Bolton Avenue.

In the spring of each year, the Red Cross hosts the Annual  Membership Meeting and Volunteer Appreciation Dinner to review the organization’s current financial status,  the impact of Red Cross services, to elect new board members, and to show appreciation to all the members, people who donated time, money and  resources in current fiscal year.

The program began with a welcome by Red Cross Executive Director Leann Murphy, followed by the invocation by Dr. Joshua Joy Dara, Zion Hill Baptist Church Pastor and the Red Cross 2010 Hero Campaign Chairman.

Board Chairman Gil McKee opened the Annual Membership Meeting by welcoming the members, reviewing financial reports which reveal of  current shortage of approximately $50,000 in unrestricted monetary contributions.  He challenged members to help by inviting others to join in support of the American Red Cross.

“If 100 of us present went home tonight and called 4 friends to give just $10 a month for one year, then we would make up our shortage,” said McKee.  He also presented a motion from the Governance Committee to re-elect Cleco Executive Russell Davis for a third term  and to elect three new board members: Jacqueline Greene with the Bureau of Health Standards, Christie Wood with Gold Law Firm, and Regina Washington with Procter and Gamble.  The motion passed unopposed.

Murphy gave a brief overview of the organization’s Annual Report of the past fiscal year.  Mckee adjourned the meeting to start the volunteer award ceremony

All Red Cross Volunteers present received certificates and special pins recognizing their voluntary service.

Special Commendations were presented to more than 40 volunteers for extraordinary service to Central Louisiana:

2008-2009 Central Louisiana Volunteers of the Year Awards

Dennis Botts – Overall Volunteer of the Year

Gil McKee—Board Member of the Year

Donna Young – Health and Safety Volunteer of the Year

Chris Everett – Fundraising Volunteer of the Year

Rae Strickland – Disaster Services Volunteer of the Year

Pastor Joshua Dara – Hero of the Year

Special Commendations

Outstanding Health and Safety Volunteers

Donna Young

Patsy Boykin

Herb Boykin

Dennis Evans

Outstanding Disaster Service Volunteers

Rae Strickland

Frances Vanderlick

Richard Clark

Donna Ledet

Jo Harper

Outstanding Military Service & Support Volunteers

Renee’ Botts, RN

Danny Cannon, LCSW

Vincent and Cindy Escandel PhD
Bart Liles  LPC
Dana Carrington LCSW
Libbie Triche DSHR

Board Service Commendations

Duane Blackwell, Owner, SoSo Solutions, LLC

Randy Briggs, Chief Deputy, Grant Parish Sheriff’s Dept

Tina Coker, CNO, Rapides Regional Medical Center

Russell Davis, Vice President & CAO, CLECO

Rodney Hatch, Forester, ROM Company

James Lee, Retired, Concordia Parish School

Gil McKee, CFO, Odor-Tech

Acie Murry, Retired, Murry HVAC

Goldia Mustain, Retired

Tracy Nash, Vice President, Capital One Bank

Freddie Price, Owner, Dempsey Business Systems

Cathy Robinson, Director of Allied Health, LSU-A

Reldon Owens, Marketing Director, Bossier Group

Ben Sandifer, Retired Catahoula Parish School Board

Ann Brame Silver, Sr. Vice President, Red River Bank

Michael Truelove, City President, Peoples State Bank

Charlotte Wasmer, Owner, Wasmer Group

Hero Campaign Chair

Pastor Joshua Joy Dara

Champion Award (for raising $5,000)

~McDonald’s of Alexandria & Glenda Stock

Hero Awards (for raising $1,000 or more)

~Jeralyn Young (Avoyelles Women’s Alliance)

~ Chris Everett (Red Cross Volunteer)

~Brian Thomson State Farm Insurance Company

~ Rose Vanburen  (Zion Hill Member)

~ Noah’s Ark Learning Center (Linda Burgess)

~Healthy Living Cenla

~ Zion Hill Ministers

~ Brame Middle School

~Rapides Parish Sheriff’s Department

~Alexandria Middle Magnet

~ Bethany Fields

Hero Campaign Team Members

~Deep South Chiropractic (Dr. John Johnson)

~ Judith Williams

~ Liz Pace

~ LSUA Student Organizations

~ Zion Hill Youth Department

~ Phoenix Magnet

~ L.S. Ruggs Elementary

~ W.O. Hall Elementary

~ Zion Hill Baptist Church Team of Heroes

~Christian Love Baptist Church

~Peabody High School

~ Chancy Daigle

~ Vernon Middle School

After the award ceremony, 20 guests received door prizes provided by area businesses.

“I want to say thank you to the Red Cross staff for a fabulous Annual Meeting and evening,” said Cathy Robinson, Red Cross volunteer and board member.  “The whole evening was fun, uplifting and motivating!”

To become a member of the Central Louisiana Red Cross visit www.cenlaredcross.org.  Donate. Volunteer. Be a Hero.  Save a lif

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: