Prince O. Mensah killed in Natchitoches Parish vehicle crash

Prince O. Mensah, the son of a West African king and an Alexandria businessman, was killed in a one-vehicle accident about 9:15 p.m. Saturday in Natchitoches Parish, according to the Louisiana State Police Troop E.

The crash occurred when Prince, founder of the African American Cultural Center and Museum on Rapides Aveune, allegedly lost control of  the 1994 Mercedes 320 he was driving on I-49 north of Louisiana Highway 6 at Posey Road, the press release indicates.

The Mercedes was south bound on I-49 when Mensah lost control and exited the left side of the roadway into the median. After exiting the roadway, the vehicle collided with a concrete pylon, which supports the Posey Road overpass. After this collision, the vehicle became fully engulfed in flames and Mensah was trapped inside.

Mensah, 50,  was pronounced dead at the scene. Routine toxicology tests are pending. The crash remains under investigation.

Below is Mensah’ bio that’s published at http://www.africanmuseumclothing.com/

I was born in Ghana West Africa. I am the 9th child of 15 children born in 1959 to King Joseph K. Mensah and Queen Martha A. Mensah. I graduated from High School at the age of fourteen. I  obtained an associate’s degree at Adass Secondary School majoring in theology, agricultural science, performing arts, and physical education.  Later, I  attended Ghana University and graduated with a master’s degree in Agriculture with a minor in Science and Performing Arts. In 1987 my brother invited me to move to Houston, Texas  and while in Houston I attended Houston Community College for two years and obtained an associate degree in general studies.

I helped my brother to run a pizza shop for six years. I also was employed as a merchant marine for two years. I moved to Alexandria, La. In 1995 and entered Northwestern State University where I obtained a certification in Child & Daycare. I also attended school at Louisiana Technical College where I acquired a Certification in Automobile Mechanics.  Also, I went to truck driving school and worked for Shneider and J.B. Hunt.  Ensco Marine an offshore company is where I worked as a seaman. In addition I obtained a associates degree from Northwestern State University majoring in Criminal Justice.

I am the founder of the African American Cultural Center and Museum located at 1810 Rapides Avenue Alexandria, LA.  In 1995 with the endorsement of the Rapides Parish School Board I developed a workshop to demonstrate African dance and educate school children about African culture.  My main concerns and efforts are concentrated on cultural exchange, especially for the younger children. The African culture is presented in crafts, arts, clothing, musical instruments and food. My attempt to bring some African Culture to several schools has been very receptive to the one hour presentations. I actually build a Royal setting using the children as the actors and along with my presentation almost bringing this setting to life.

I have made presentations to almost every school in Rapides Parish as well as many churches and institutions. The following are  few examples of schools I have visited and they include, Lincoln Road Elementary & Sixth (6th) Grade Center, Huddle Elementary, Phoenix Magnet Elementary and Arthur Smith Junior High school. Some other places are Tom Thumb Child Development Center, Louisiana Women’s Education Center. Many of these school and more have requested a presentation for the upcoming year.

One Response

  1. I am SO very sorry to hear about our good friend, Prince Mensah’s death. Our condolences and sincere sympathies go out to his wonderful family. We are yet reeling from this news and will contact his wife in the morning. He was such a uniquely wonderful person with a vision and a great love for his people. We are glad that he was able to go back to Ghana for a visit with his family just recently and pray for their strength and mercy during this time of extreme loss.

Leave a Reply

